There’s No Place Like Home (Cooking)

What’s one of the best things about the college experience? Going home for some home cooking. Case in point: I was just home for a long weekend and went through ALL of my mother’s recipes to choose what I wanted to have (she always lets me choose the menu). I managed to narrow it down to two finalists: salmon with lentils and a skillet shrimp with orzo. The ultimate winner in this recipe throw down was the salmon with lentils–and boy, did I make the right decision. 

I love cooking at home because I have every ingredient right at my fingertips (the array of spices my mom has is the best part). This recipe was easy to make. It’s a simple dish, yet one packed with flavor. You combine onions and carrots in with the lentils and simmer gently for 25 minutes. The salmon is broiled in the oven–and takes no longer than ten minutes. BUT the part that makes this dish so spectacular is the sauce that you put on top. It calls for red wine vinegar, olive oil, Dijon mustard and a garlic clove.  Once you pour it on top it seeps into the salmon and lentils, making them melt-in-your-mouth tender.

Image

It’s got the tang of the vinegar, the bite of the mustard, and the creaminess of the lentils, which all combine to perfectly complement the subtle flavor of the salmon. All in all I hope you can see why I’m always eager to come home (aside from seeing my family).  This recipe is from Martha Stewart’s Food Everyday and I could eat this every day–it’s that good. But until next time, keep eating!

 

Leave a Reply

