My First Time…..Trying Something New!

I don’t know what it is about this year, but I have become more adventurous when trying new foods (and I must say I definitely don’t hate it–talk about spicing up my life!) This time I tried something I always thought I would like but never had the guts to do it. Ok, it wasn’t anything extreme like frogs legs or alligator, but it was enough to make me feel adventurous. Plantains. Not an extremely easy thing to find just anywhere, but definitely something worth searching for.

I love bananas and honestly the only way I can describe a plantain is a banana but ten times better. They were fried too (in my opinion anything fried helps make an ordinary food incredible). The plantains were starchy and sweet–much chewier than a banana but in a good way. It was love at first bite.

Image

I Googled how to make plantains, and luckily for me (and anyone else who is feeling adventurous) they aren’t that hard to make! My search results informed me that you can cook them in three ways: frying, baking, or grilling. Since I’m no where near ready to deep fry them myself, I will probably stick to either grilling or baking.

Plantains seem to be the perfect side dish to any sort of spicy food–maybe something along the lines of fajitas, or spiced chicken–or can even be a side for a brunch. If anyone knows of a dish that pairs well with plantains I would love to know! I honestly could eat them plain, but I would love to know what flavors complement them. If you’re interested in a how-to on cooking plantains check out this awesome site, Pati’s Mexican Table! But until next time, keep eating!

Leave a Reply

