Holy Guacamole! Dynamite Mexican Food at Carlitos

I took a trip to Santa Barbara to visit my sister and had an absolutely amazing time. We did everything from walking to wining and dining–and boy did we eat. I must say I haven’t had better Mexican food anywhere else. Everything was so fresh and delicious. One of my favorite places was Carlitos, this adorable, authentic Mexican restaurant in the heart of Santa Barbara. 
 
By dinner time we were both starving–having walked around all day we certainly worked up an appetite–and were so excited when they brought us fresh homemade tortilla chips and salsa. Wow is all I have to say. We gorged ourselves on chips and couldn’t wait for our next course to come.
 
Image 
 
Up next was their shrimp empanadas. My family and I have this rule that when we go out to eat we order something we wouldn’t make ourselves. And my sister and I carried on that tradition. These empanadas were packed with shrimp, asadero cheese, papaya salsa, and a chipotle cream. And not to mention, they were the perfect amount of crispy. I was in a food heaven.
 
If that course didn’t win my heart, my main entree did: their sizzling fajitas platter. The biggest platter you’ve ever seen. I can usually finish my plate but this particular time I have to admit I didn’t even make it through half. I got the chicken and steak combo which came with homemade corn tortillas, guacamole, salsa, sour cream, rice, and black beans. A feast some would say. The chicken ans steak were cooked perfectly and combined with fresh guacamole, sour cream, and salsa, all rolled together in a tortilla was dynamite.
 
If I ever visit Santa Barbara again (which I definitely plan on doing), I will be back to Carlitos, and ready to try another fabulous meal. But until next time, keep eating!
Leave a Reply

