Hail to the Halibut!

With work being busy, I am always looking for a quick yet absolutely delicious meal that I can whip up in no time. While I am a carnivore at heart, I try and make sure to eat fish at least twice a week. I’m a big fan of halibut so when I found this recipe for Halibut with Balsamic Cherry Tomatoes, I was hooked.

unnamed
What you’ll need:
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 4 (6-ounce) halibut fillets, skinned
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 2 c. cherry tomatoes
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. chopped fresh basil
Get out a skillet, add one tbsp. of olive oil and heat over medium high heat. Then add the halibut and sprinkle (generously) with salt and pepper. Cook the halibut until it’s flaky and tender (roughly five minutes).  Next, add the rest of the oil to the pan and add in tomatoes and garlic. Sauté for about three minutes then add in the vinegar and cook for one minute or until tomatoes begin to burst. Finally stir in the basil and top it off with some salt. Get yourself a plate and eat!

This meal is light and bursts with flavor–the perfect end to a long work day! I sautéed some spinach (all the was in my fridge) and served that as my side but this dish would be fabulous with some creamy polenta. But until next time, keep eating!
Leave a Reply

